The December Birchbox!

I received the December Birchbox many weeks ago, so… I guess it’s time to write a little something about it.

First, I’m glad that they decided to decorate the box itself. It’s fun and different and… well, sometimes it’s just nice to mix it up and add a little color.

Image

Number 4 Clarifying Shampoo (1.75 fl oz): I was hoping to get this sample! The sample size is great and it seems like a very nice (and, er, expensive) product. The texture isn’t like the texture of normal shampoo. It definitely reminds me more of… hair serum. It feels nice. I read something about only using it once a week, which made me very happy because it means the sample will last me a while. Would I buy this? Maybe. The 250 ml container costs $32, which feels like a lot to spend on a shampoo (special or not)… but I’ll think about it because I like how my hair feels after I use it. Plus, it should last a while.

Eyeko London Skinny Liquid Eyeliner (olive): This looks like a really nice eyeliner. I’m still not an eyeliner fan, however, so I made one friend very happy by giving it to her. Oddly enough, she had talked about this exact product with a friend the day before (that friend is a Birchbox subscriber), and she was about to go try to find a similar product at a department store. Win! (If you’re a friend and love eyeliner, please tell me so I’ll know who to give future eyeliners to!)

Chuao Chocolatier ChocoPod (salted chocolate crunch): Was the packaging nice? Yes. Did I like getting a little chocolate snack in my box? Yes. Did I enjoy it? Yes. Was this chocolate amazing? No. Birchbox subscribers sampled a few different ones and it’s possible some of those other flavors were much better than the one I got. The bigger thing, however, is that I love chocolate and have had the pleasure of tasting some really good chocolate (at local shops and special events like the Seattle Luxury Chocolate Salon). This “gourmet” chocolate was not as good as a lot of the chocolate I have tried, but… not everybody goes to tastings as much as I do, so I’m not surprised that a lot of the people loved this product (and made sure to say so on Instagram).

Mox Botanicals Lip Butter (pom & fig, .1oz): This is an adorable and delicious little sample. I love the container, the (tasty, tasty) product, and what I’ve seen about the ingredients. The only downside is probably the price. I haven’t done any real research about how much similar products cost, but I wasn’t expecting the price for .2oz to be $16.

Aerie’s Shimmer Fragrance: I love the “candy wrapper” package. I was a little sad to unwrap it so I could smell the fragrance. I do like how it smells and like how the tiny container fits in my bag, but I have a lot of perfume already, so I’m not looking to buy any more anytime soon.

Was this box worth $10 to me? Of course! Products aside, everything was chosen AND shipped to my house in a cute little* box. When it comes to product value, it looks like the eyeliner (aka “good gift”) alone would have cost me about $15. The chocolate I’d value at about $1.50, the lip butter at about $8, and the shampoo at about $6. Fragrance samples are often free, so I can’t really think of it as anything other than “free.”

*I mean it when I say “little.” These boxes are smaller than I thought they would be. Not a bad thing, but… a surprise.

November Box Updates:

LOVE the ModelCo FIBRE LASHXTEND Lengthening Mascara and twistband hairtie. The Shea Terra Organics cream is wonderful, but I’m still not a huge fan of the banana smell. The polish and hair spray are fine, but they’re likely to become gifts because I’m not likely to use them much. The cologne sample remains unopened…

If you feel like getting on the Birchbox waiting list and subscribing (to this box or the new Birchbox Man box), here’s my invite link: https://www.birchbox.com?raf=k26f6

Cheers!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “The December Birchbox!

  1. Sheldon @ luxury chocolate January 24, 2013 at 7:15 am Reply

    Thanks for the great write up, sorry to hear that the luxury chocolate was not so good, but here is a fantastic range of artisan luxury chocolates that maybe you could get them to include in the box rather. They are fantastic to say the least, if you like chocolate you’ll love http://artisanduchocolat.com

    • innab March 9, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

      Thanks for the comment! Love all the pictures of chocolate and pink doodles/labels on the landing page of your site. :)

Leave a Reply

