Geocaching!

I recently discovered this wonderful thing called Geocaching. I haven’t been able to do it every day and I haven’t found every cache I’ve looked for, but I love it because it gives me a reason to explore my surroundings (besides just checking out businesses) and it’s fun to find hidden “treasures” around me. The other great thing is that most cell phones have GPS now and there’s at least one Geocaching app available, so you no longer need to purchase a GPS device to participate.

These are some of the caches I’ve found near Seattle…

Image

My first find!

Image

I believe this one was just outside a funky store that I grew up next to. Cool find because of the memories.

Image

I think this one had a “taking the dog for a walk” theme, so it had some dog treats in it. I don’t live with a dog and wasn’t crazy about my hands smelling a little like treats, but it’s a great idea!

Image

My phone died (low battery) moments after I found the cache, so… I grabbed my laptop and snapped a picture using the Photo Booth app. This was found in… Issaquah.

Image

The container is hidden behind these rocks. Enjoyed this one because it’s next to a zoo.

Image

My first “micro” find and my first find in a scenic spot! Loved this one because my boyfriend and I would never have found this tiny Mercer Island, WA park without Geocaching.

Image

Second scenic find! I had no idea there was a little lake near my favorite coffee shop in the Issaquah Highlands.

Image

I think this was found in a mini park in Sammamish, WA.

Image

It took me a few visits to find this micro cache, so I was pretty happy when I spotted it. This was a fun/cool find for me because it’s hidden near the Redmond Library (aka my first employer).

Image

I believe this one’s in Renton, WA. Enjoyed this one because I’ve never seen a tea container that’s been sitting outside for a long time.

So… how’s this for “I need to blog about something besides subscription boxes.”? Have you ever gone Geocaching? If yes, do you use a GPS device or an iPhone/Android app?

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Geocaching!

  1. firennice May 17, 2013 at 9:25 am Reply

    Welcome to the addiction

    • innab May 17, 2013 at 9:53 am Reply

      Thanks!! :D

Leave a Reply

