Ipsy’s June 2013 Bag – “On The Wild Side”

image-28

Ipsy’s June bag took a while to reach Seattle! I received my email on the 10th and saw that it started in North Carolina and visited Hebron, KY, Compton, CA, and Auburn, WA. It finally reached Seattle on the 15th and finally reached me on the 17th. I have no idea what happened at/with DHL, but… that looked a little weird.

Contents…

The bag itself is definitely interesting this month. I don’t yet know if I’ll keep it or give it to a friend, but… it’s definitely not a “boring” design.

NYX Mosaic Powder (Paradise) – Pretty! I like the container and what I can see of the product. I don’t normally wear blush so I’m likely to give it to a friend, but… maybe I’ll keep it. Haven’t decided yet. Just opened it a few minutes ago! The website looks fine… I would have just rather received a lip product from them. :)

Psssst!® The TRUE Original Dry Shampoo – I’m subscribed because I’m interested in new products, but… I don’t normally buy products on my own, so I’m actually happy to see a product that I’ve owned before! This was the first Dry Shampoo I tried several years ago, and I remember being a fan. Hope that’s still the case! Oh, and sample size (1.76oz) is good. Website looks fine. (WIN!!!)

Cailyn Cosmetics Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner with Brush Built-In (Purple) – I like what I see, but… it’s still eyeliner. I can’t get into eyeliner, so this is likely to become a gift… just like all the others I’ve received from Ipsy and Birchbox.

J.Cat Beauty Sparkling Cream Palette (Suzie) – I’ve seen a few confused reactions to this product on Ipsy, blogs, and YouTube, and… I’m in the same place. I’m not a teenager and I don’t go to clubs. I don’t know how I’m going to use this product, so… maybe I’ll find a teenager that wants it. (Note: They say it’s best to keep this product away from the eyes.)

Starlooks Lip Pencil (Tickle Me Pink) – The product looks good and it’s smooth, but… I don’t like how the color looks on me. Likely to give this one away.

I’ve watched a few videos and read a few blog posts about this bag, and… it looks like most people are excited about most of the products. I guess I’m not really surprised because I’m pretty sure I just don’t like make-up as much as many people seem to. I love that Ipsy added a new feedback survey for each item… I hope they start using the data/feedback right away! Maybe then I’ll get more products that I’m super excited about and won’t end up giving away most of the bag. ;) Too bad it starts with this set of products… I’d love to tell them how much I loved the products I got last month!

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy (it’s $10/month), this is my invite link.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Ipsy’s June 2013 Bag – “On The Wild Side”

  1. jocelynd123 June 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm Reply

    Don’t worry, I’m a makeup lover and I was still disappointed with this bag; you’re not the only one! At least these products can easily be gifted or sold. :P

    • innab June 20, 2013 at 10:35 am Reply

      Good to know! Yeah, I think I can find a person who will happily take each item off my hands… and I have one friend who has two social teenage daughters, so their household accepts all make-up. :)

  2. Nicole Baade June 20, 2013 at 10:30 am Reply

    I really wanted the dry shampoo but didn’t get it :( I got fake eyelashes instead, which I may or may not ever use. I always got a face highlighter stick, which I’ll have to do some research on because I’ve never used one. I was a little confused about the eyeshadow as well. At least your color palette is somewhere neutral — mine is blues and greens! : / I love the bag itself this month, though!!!

    • innab June 20, 2013 at 10:39 am Reply

      Ohhhh that highlighter looks pretty cool! I was kind of hoping to see it in my bag. They updated their survey so you can take it again on the site, and starting this month you can give them feedback on each item, so maybe that’ll help make future bags more perfect!!

Leave a Reply

