*NEW* Love With Food – June 2013 “Summer Bash”

I have this feeling that I’m trying to get away from spending a lot of time at stores. I’ve had a CSA bin for years so most of the produce that I have at home gets delivered, and now I’m getting all sorts of other food delivered in boxes, so… nahhhh. I do like visiting grocery stores and I do occasionally stock up on the items that I love, so I’m not really switching to “delivery only.” I just enjoy trying new things and I’ve seen some good reviews for this box… plus, I met the founder of Love With Food at VloggerFair a couple weeks ago. I was happy to see them at an event and love my new LWF reusable shopping bag!

Anyway… here’s what my first box looked like!

Image

I didn’t take a picture of the information card, but… I’m so impressed! Specifically, I love that the Twitter handle of each snack/food company is right there on the card. Super useful!! I also love that most or all of the snacks are gluten-free because this means I can share them with my boyfriend.

Also love the card that has a recipe on one side and an offer for a Food & Wine magazine subscription on the other. Looks like you can get 12 issues of the magazine for $12 by going to: readsave.com/lwfoffer

The recipe is for a “Beach Trip in a Blender.” They suggest blending one sliced banana, one peeled & cubed mango, several ice cubes, and the juice from 1/2 a lime. Then just pour and “top each glass with a lime wedge.”

The snacks…

Roasted Seaweed from Seaweed Love (@weLOVEseaweed) – I love seaweed snacks and this sample size is perfect! I’m happy that they use sea salt and that they’re not the spicy kind. Accidentally got a couple bags of spicy seaweed snacks recently, and I wasn’t happy. I’ve purchased seaweed snacks from 1-2 other companies before, so this is definitely a snack that I’m happy to get. (Gluten-free)

Coconut + Mango Fruit Ice from Smooze (@SmoozeFruitIce) – Now THIS is new to me! I’ve never heard of this company or this kind of snack. This is the perfect time of the year for it, though! I threw it in my freezer a few minutes ago and look forward to tasting it in a few days. Good sample size and gluten-free!

Gluten-Free Pineapple Coconut Cereal Bar from Do More Bars (@domorebars) – Hello, breakfast! The ingredient list is kind of long and I’m not crazy about pineapple (unless it’s fresh & sliced or on a pizza), but I love the flavor of coconuts and haven’t had crispy brown rice in a while. This should be pretty tasty! Good sample size (1.23ozs). Update: Loved everything but the hint of pineapple! May need to buy a case… :)

Organic Fruity Bears from Surf Sweets (@SurfSweets) – These bears were tasty and did not survive an hour at my apartment. I like that they seem to have a lot of organic ingredients and that they’re made with organic fruit juice. Not crazy about the ingredient list, but… I can’t really expect things like “no sugar” and “no mystery ingredients” when talking about fruity bears. The sample was .5oz and probably all the fruity bears I wanted/needed. ;) (I’m a little obsessed with the term “fruity bears” right now…)

Sweet Plantain Chips from Turbana (@_Turbana) – Another exciting new snack! The bag is 1.05oz so it’s a pretty big sample, and I’m looking forward to trying the chips. I’m pretty sure I’ve had plantain(s?) once or twice, but never from a package… this should be interesting. I like that they’re also gluten-free and the ingredient list only has three things on it (selected fresh ripe plantain, vegetable oil, sugar). Update: Very good! Not planning to buy more at this time, but would be happy to eat more of these.

All-Natural Fruit and Soy Bar from SoyJoy (@SOYJOYUS) – I’m familiar with the brand, but I don’t think I’ve had any of their snacks before… not sure if I want to start with a pineapple bar, but… gotta start somewhere, right? This bar is gluten-free, but I think my boyfriend will avoid it because of the soy… and butter… and salt… and fermented milk powder. Fermented milk powder?! Haven’t seen that one before. I’m actually not very excited about this. I don’t know if I should try it or give it to a random hungry person/friend. Err.

Pomegranate Mint Chewing Gum from PUR Gum (@purgum) – New brand and it’s gum! Exciting. I haven’t had gum in a while. Not sure why. The flavor sounds great and I’ve never had pom + mint before. Hope it’s a good combination! Love the design on the white part of the package… very pretty. Good sample size, too. I’m really excited about this gum right now… I should probably put it in my bag so it can last me a week or two. Update: Good! Flavor seemed to only last for a few seconds or so, but I enjoyed the gum.

Organic Hard Candy from GoOrganic (@HillsideCandy) – Not crazy about hard candy so I definitely haven’t heard of these before, but they are pretty tasty. I like that they included two flavors – one organic apple candy and one organic blood orange candy. Small sample, but… enough to figure out if I like the product or not.

Organic Drink Mix from Flavrz (@FlavrzDrinkMix) – I received a few of these in my Conscious Box (need to write that post…) this month so I’m now getting familiar with the brand/product, and… it’s pretty good. The ingredients look good. I’m a little surprised they use two sweeteners (organic agave syrup and organic cane sugar), though.

I’m quite happy with this first box! Everything appears to be gluten-free and I’m looking forward to eating everything except the SoyJoy bar. Oh, and the “we donate a meal to a hungry child for every box send” idea is pretty cool, too. This box is $12 and that’s… what, maybe a really nice cocktail or an entree, so I’ll probably stay subscribed and skip that cocktail or entree. ;)

Referral link: https://lovewithfood.com/?ref=qHy

Next: I’ll write my Conscious Box review soon annnnnd… Healthy Surprise. Maybe. For the most part, I just say “Yay, Healthy Surprise” and skip the blog post. Looks like my first Knoshbox is also finally rolling or flying to me… pretty excited about that!

Good night :)

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

