April 2014 Hatchery Tasting Box

Image

I love the Hatchery Tasting Box because… cute jars of jam and fun ingredients! This box is $20 per month. I’ve been a subscriber since the first or second box, but haven’t been able to review each box on time because there have been a few errors/issues related to my address update/move. A couple weeks ago I decided to browse #hatcherybox on Instagram and realized that my April box was several weeks late. Turns out their system tried to run my card with my old mailing address (even though they had my new one) and it got declined. For some reason this didn’t result in a phone call or email. When I called, the customer support rep apologized and said they’d get the April box sent out to me (for free). I’m happy they are very nice, and hope they fix the issue in their system… it seems to be related to the “system prints old address on the mailing sticker even though they have my new address on file” error that came up the month I moved.

On to the contents…

Murphy’s Mustard Motherlode: I love the cute little jar and look forward to finding a simple recipe that calls mustard. Mustard makes me think of hot dogs and sandwiches, but I don’t normally have bread at home because I’m trying to eat less sandwiches… and gluten-free bread (the boyfriend’s bread) usually goes bad quickly.

Glicco’s Pasta Gravy: I love the jar and am happy it was enough for a couple bowls of (gluten-free) pasta. The one surprise was… spice. I wasn’t expecting it to be so spicy!

Tonewood Maple Maple Flakes: What a cool idea! I don’t know if I’ll ever find a way to use these flakes, but I will definitely try to figure something out. If that doesn’t work, I’ll have to convince a friend who loves to cook to host brunch (and bring this packet)…

Delta Blue Blueberries Organic Blueberry Fruit Spread: I love the little jar and am happy to say the fruit spread was very tasty. The only sad thing is that the fruit spread is all gone…

Two Snooty Chefs Oaxaca Molé: Little bags of spices are a little less exciting that jars, but this still looks interesting.

O Olive Oil Fig Balsamic Vinegar: I don’t like the container because I’m pretty sure I’ll find a way to knock it over after I open it, but I’m excited about this sample because I like balsamic vinegar.

Can’t wait to see my May box! Hope they bring back the little tasting spoons, though… I miss the little tasting spoons!

If you’d like to subscribe, make sure to check their Facebook page first. They frequently post things like “Get your first box for $10 aka 50% off!”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

