September 2014 Stitch Fix

My requests for the September fix were: cute jacket appropriate for Seattle autumn/winter, something for a wedding in a barn, something for a wedding in a nice Seattle hotel. My stylist (Jess) hasn’t found a great rainy city jacket yet, but she did have a couple of wedding outfit ideas!

FullSizeRender-1 5This Papermoon dress was the item sent for the barn wedding. I liked the dark blue color, the waist string/tie, and that the “slip” layer was a little shorter than the outer layer of the dress… but the dress was a tiny bit too short and (much more importantly) I decided to start avoiding ruffles 1-2 years ago. I eventually decided to wear the Papermoon chevron dress from my June fix.

FullSizeRender-1 4I like that this Brixon Ivy blouse had an attached tanktop under the blouse, but it was just too annoying to put on and take off… and didn’t look that great on me.

FullSizeRender-1 3This Gilli dress was the Seattle hotel wedding item. I love the dark red/maroon color and thought I would love the dress, but unfortunately it looked odd on me and I felt awkward when I looked at my reflection. I didn’t want to feel awkward at my friend’s wedding, so I decided to send it back.

FullSizeRender-1 2This Kensie sweater was a nice “not something I’d pick up and try on my own” surprise but I quickly decided I liked the lace detail/panel on the side. Unfortunately it didn’t look great on me and I usually don’t get too excited about see-through tops (would definitely have to wear a tank top or more under it!), so I sent it back to Stitch Fix.

FullSizeRender-1This Daniel Rainn top was my favorite item in this box (and the only one I kept)! I really like the blue color (more blue in my closet!) and the details. It’s also a bit longer than most other tops I’ve received, which is actually a good thing. I like longer tops. Didn’t end up getting a new outfit/dress for my friend’s October/Seattle hotel wedding, but I did get a new top to wear to her bachelorette dinner!

Some part of me was expecting Stitch Fix to send another perfect “must keep everything!” box right away, but I was actually happy to get only one item I really loved. The decision was easy and I didn’t end up spending more than expected.

Can’t wait to see what they send next month! My note to the stylist includes: Autumn colors, jacket, cute prints (good on the cut-out details for now), and a pair of pants.

If you decide to try Stitch Fix, I hope you consider using my referral link. Thanks for reading! :)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

