Yogi Surprise! (October 2014)

I think a friend mentioned Yogi Surprise to me a couple months before they launched, and at first I was not planning to subscribe. Main reasons? It’s on the expensive side ($44.95/month) and I don’t love yoga enough to consider myself a “yogi.” When they finally announced their launch and offered the “20% off forever” incentive for the founding subscribers, however, I thought about how they’ll probably send some healthy products and useful things to improve my little fitness journey… and ended up subscribing.

The first box arrived a couple days ago! Here’s what was inside (and what I thought)…

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 4.13.47 PM

Buddha Nose Awaken Yoga Mat Spray: This was the only Yogi Surprise spoiler the team released before they started sending boxes, so I knew I would see it in the box and knew I would be happy! I’ve wanted my own spray for a while but haven’t been inspired to purchase or make one because my old yoga studio had sprays available. Now I’m taking yoga classes at a gym instead, and the gym doesn’t appear to have a mat spray (probably because the room is not hot and we don’t normally get super sweaty like at my old studio). I love that this spray can also be used as a body spray and deodorant!

Teatulia Organic Tea Medley: I really need to have a month of tea or something! I expected them to send tea but also hoped they wouldn’t. I rarely drink tea and have quite the little collection going thanks to subscription boxes. Maybe I’ll get excited about tea in November? Good things… pretty sure I haven’t tried Teatulia tea before and “organic” is usually a good thing. I’m also glad the tea bags are in a little container.

PeopleTowels Organic Cotton Towel: This is different and interesting and cute! I was a little sad when I realized that it’s not a little yoga towel, but am still happy to have a paper towel alternative. I’ll have to read more about it to see how people use it. I keep imagining myself drying my hands with it and then throwing it in my purse… which doesn’t make sense because then there’d be a wet towel in my purse.

VedaBar PittaBar: “Hangry.” Ha! Cute package. I was happy they included this bar because I haven’t tried VedaBar products before and because I love convenient purse (and before/after yoga/gym) food. I ate it yesterday and thought it was alright. Sadly not likely to buy more.

Big Dipper Wax Works Beeswax Aromatherapy Tin (Meditation): I love little candles!! I don’t know if I’ll actually try meditating while burning this candle, but I will definitely enjoy burning it. I’m glad I didn’t burn any candles this summer because now I have plenty of candles to enjoy when Seattle gets darker and colder.

Emmy’s Organics Dark Cacao Macaroons: A few great things about this… a new-to-me macaroon maker! Macaroons! Gluten-free! Raw! Vegan! Dark Cacao! Alcohol-free vanilla flavor (because: my boyfriend could taste the alcohol in a brownie we recently received from another company)! I’m pretty sure the only downside was that the bag only contained three and we had to split the third one. ;)

Rooted Beauty Facial Wipes: I don’t really need facial wipes for workouts because my gym (where I take yoga classes) is SUPER close to my house (and has showers), but I love having facial wipes in my purse because I really like being able to clean my face after work and before I show up at an event or meet a friend for coffee/drinks. So much better than using sink water and then a paper towel to dry my face… especially because some places have dryers instead of paper towels and some of the darker paper towels smell bad (has anybody else noticed that?). I recently also realized that I could use these kinds of wipes to clean my hands if I’m at a food festival and the bathrooms are on the other side of the park. This doesn’t happen often, but I was really happy to have some wipes when I checked out Bite of Seattle a couple months ago.

I don’t know how long I’ll stay a subscriber, but I like all the items they picked this month and hope they send even better stuff next month! Somebody else did a cost breakdown and thought the “value” came to almost the cost of the box. Not bad… especially since I paid less as a “founding subscriber” and shipping was free… but I hope they still find a way to make the value higher. This is not a cheap surprise, so it’s nice when the item value is more than people pay. I’m glad the Rate & Review section on the Yogi Surprise site asks about the types of items we’d like to see in future boxes. I’m definitely checking the “Yoga Gear and Accessories” box!

If you’d like to subscribe, I hope you consider using my referral link. Thanks for reading!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

