December 2014 Birchbox

IMG_2680A shiny box AND a lot of samples! So exciting!!! :)

1. COOLA Tinted Matte SPF 30 for Face: I guess this is a good sample for trying the item and seeing if I like the formula. It’s not really a product I’m interested in, so I’ll either pass it on to a friend or keep it and be thankful that it’s a small (easy to use up!) sample.

2. Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel: This is a good sample size and my second one of this product (the other was in a Birchbox mystery sample pack – free with a full-size item order of $35+!). I recently saw a great review of this product, so I’m looking forward to trying it!

3. SeaRX Anti-Wrinkle Facial Lift Treatment Serum: This is a good “does my skin love it or hate it?” sample size. I don’t love serums and already have a bunch of serum samples from boxes, so this isn’t really an item I’m interested in trying.

4. Mirenesse iCurl Secret Weapon 24 Hour Mascara: I was excited about this item because I love mascara and am pretty sure I loved the last Mirenesse product I received. Sadly the experience turned out to be a bad one, though. I love the applicator and how the mascara makes my eyelashes look, but after about an hour the edges of my eyes started feeling odd. I tried to ignore it, but about half-way through dinner they started really hurting and it didn’t stop until I went into the bathroom and scrubbed the eye area (with water and soap). I wasn’t wearing any other eye make-up and hadn’t tried anything else new that day, so sadly it looks like my eyes and this mascara do not get along.

5-7. Davines Replumpling Shampoo, Conditioner, and Superactive: So happy I got these items!!!! I love trying these kinds of hair products and liked the last Davines samples I received. Looking forward to trying everything!! Thinking about throwing it all in my gym bag so I can actually try it this week…

Pretty awesome box! I hope they send a little lifestyle item in January, though. I love it when they include snacks, hair ties, tiny candles, etc. I didn’t end up reserving any of the January samples or curated boxes because none of them really appealed to me, so the whole box will be a surprise.

Do I recommend Birchbox? YES! I like many of the samples and love their points system so much that last month I pre-paid for another year of Birchbox! If you’d like to subscribe, I hope you consider using my referral link. If pre-paying is an option for you and you are sure you won’t get overwhelmed by samples, I recommend doing it (especially if they are having a pre-pay sale). Also make sure to review your samples each month (before the tenth of the following month) and send emails if you ever have problems with your order/box. The points add up quickly!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

